Wii U hard drive incompatibility fix

If you want to expand your Wii U’s memory but the Hard Drive you currently own isn’t being picked up by your Wii U (like mine did at first), there is a solution other than buying a Nintendo tested hard drive. You can purchase a USB Y cable such as the one shown in the picture which you can buy right here. Why this fixes the issue I’m not sure but I guess it has something to do with Nintendo’s recommendation that you purchase a hard drive that has its own external power source and the fact that these cables are specifically made to increase power and data connection between the hard drive and the connected device.

 

(Note: My first and only experience using this fix was to play “The Cave” demo directly from my hard drive. However I encountered frame rate drops and I’m not sure if this is because I was using a hard drive that wouldn’t normally be compatible with Wii U or if this is was simply a badly optimised game. If you also experienced frame drops in “The Cave”s demo please let me know in the comments)

3 responses to “Wii U hard drive incompatibility fix”

  1. hard drive says :

    Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  2. Custom USB says :

    My brother recommended I would possibly like this blog.
    He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how so much
    time I had spent for this information! Thank
    you!

    http://constanc52.pixnet.net/blog/post/110873506

Leave a Reply

